On Becoming a Trim Healthy Mama

It’s Saturday morning.  It’s raining.  It’s a good day to lay on the couch under a blanket and overdo Netflix and searching the internet for all kinds of things you had no idea were so important or that you needed. 😉 At least that’s how my day seems to be starting out.

The transitions in my life seem to be smoothing out a bit although there’s still a bump here or there.  At least as far as being employed is concerned.  The bottom line is I’m very high maintenance for myself.  That really makes no sense unless you’re also a type A personality with OCD.  I’m working through it with God’s grace and strength and I know the outcome will be for my good and His glory.

There’s been another pretty big change going on in my life personally that’s also been tough to handle at times.  My battle with weight, body image, and food.  I know I’m not alone in this.  Just look at the diet industry and the billions they make on selling the perfect plan to get you perfectly healthy and the perfect body.  Most of it is garbage and not worth a second glance.  I only became sold on what I’m about to share with you because my friend, Sarah, had this book and I saw the difference I was making for her.

I went to visit my PA People (that would be my friends and family near Philly where I’m originally from) and stayed with Sarah and her family.  She had a book called Trim Healthy Mama and one night I read a couple chapters and decided it was worth it to buy that book and read the whole thing.  I fully intended to order the book when I got back from that trip well over a year ago.  I didn’t.  Totally forgot.

This summer we went on vacation with 4 other families to the Outer Banks of North Carolina.  Best vacation so far!  Sarah brought her Trim Healthy Mama book and let me taste some of the things she was making and eating on this “diet.”  I saw that it was working for her and since I’ve been gluten free for years and dairy free for about 6 months, I thought I could manage it too.

After vacation I ordered the book from Amazon.  That was the beginning of July, and I’ve been messing around with this eating plan since.  I’ve not been what the book calls “on plan” 100% of the time but I’ve definitely lost inches and a few pounds.  Mostly because this plan shuns sugar and works to keep your levels, well, level.  I’ve not used sugar in things in a long time.  I switched to stevia a few years ago, but when I realized how sugar is in nearly EVERY processed or packaged food, it was alarming.  And kind of annoying.  Now I have to read labels for sugar as well as gluten!   I’d had some weird symptons lately and the doctor did a blood panel.  I was concerned diabetes could be the problem.  Nope.  I’m fine.  I want to stay fine, so I’ve been following this Trim Healthy Mama way of eating for over a month now.

I’ve seen huge benefits in how I feel (I have much more energy), and my pain level (arthritis is definitely better), but it’s been hard too.  The best thing about THM (Trim Healthy Mama) is that it is biblibally based!  There’s a whole chapter on food and what God says about it in the Bible.  There are no food groups excluded!  I love dairy and was blaming it for a lot of my digestive and pain problems.  Turns out the culprite was sugar.  Now I’m back on dairy and loving my eggs with cheese!  Cheese is my friend!

I will say the science behind the eating plan is tough to comprehend sometimes, especially if you’ve been a yo-yo dieter your whole life.  It’s amazingly sound though and can make sense if you give it time.  The two most important things:  read the WHOLE book before you start and make use of the online facebook community and helps they’ve come up with.  That part is the only reason I’ve had any success!   This is not something I’m doing to get skinny.  I just want to be healthy.  This is how I’ll be eating the rest of my life.  I’m ok with that.  It’ll be something I talk about it.  A lot.  If you want to see the original mamas who put this plan together, check them out here.  Some of you old school, Christian music fans may recognize them.

Happy Saturday, friends!  I challenge you to make at least one healthy choice for yourselves today 🙂

*Off topic, but I need to make one other book recommendation!  My friend, Jenny Simmons, book was released this past week: The Road to Becoming.  It is SO good!  I read it way back when it was just a document emailed to me and it helped me recognize God in some big life hurdles.  Now I’m so excited to have it in hand, bound and with a really cool cover.  If you pair it with her CD (you can get it on itunes), you will be so ministered to!  Check them both out and be blessed in the becoming!

One thought on “On Becoming a Trim Healthy Mama

Leave a Reply

