It’s Beginning To Look a Lot Like Christmas…More or Less

elf legsI’m not sure how many days it is until Christmas, nor do I really care at this point.  All I know is there are 9 days until I’m hosting the school’s staff Christmas party at our house, and there are 18 days until the school Christmas program.  Oh, and somewhere in that time I’ll turn 39.

Yesterday I gave myself an early birthday present 🙂  I spent a few hours at a local spa getting a massage and a haircut.  It. Was. Amazing.  I’ve had massages before, but they were at a chiropractor’s office, and while they were nice, they were nothing like the “spa” experience I had yesterday.  When I arrived I was shown to my locker where there was a lovely, thick robe, and some massaging sandals waiting for me.  Once I was in the comfy robe I was shown to the relaxation room that had massage chairs and given a glass of lemon water and some cucumbers for my eyes.  After 15 minutes in the massage chair my masseusse Kristy, came and got me for my 90 minute massage. It was wonderful!  After my massage I got a haircut and left feeling the most relaxed I have in months.  It was worth every penny!  I did some shopping (fun but costly) and finished out the day at church.  It was a very, very good day!

I wish I could say I feel that good today, but the day after a massage is not nearly as fun.  All those kinks and knots she worked out are sore today. I’m sure it didn’t help that Alisha and I conspired to get all the Christmas stuff out of the attic while my husband was out this morning.  He’s got the cold Marissa and I had last week, and we really didn’t want him to have to help, but if we tried to do it while he was home…you know.  He’s a guy.  Our attic is not easy to get to.  There’s a 2’x2′ access panel in the ceiling of a closet.  I was the one who climbed a ladder, balanced on the shelf, and climbed up into the attic to hand down all the rubbermaid totes.  Of which there are more than a few!  And it was hot.  And I’m about 30 pounds over what I should be.  And I’m not as nimble as I used to be.  It’s 62 here today and in our house it’s 73.  It felt like it was around 80 up there!  The good news is all the stuff is down.  The bad news is the house was a wreck before we got the stuff down.  Now…?  I’m trying to only look at my computer screen so as not to weep and cover my head with a blanket and take a nice long nap praying the Christmas elves will show up with a cleaning lady.

I’m taking this break to write, down a gallon of water, and eat some Pirate’s Booty (good stuff!!) Now that my heart-rate is back to normal and my temperature is not boiling (hormones suck) I have to resume the cleaning, decorating, laundry washing, lesson planning, and Christmas program preparation that is my Sunday.  Maybe I should ask Santa for one of those fancy massage chairs!

How do you usually spend your Sundays?

One thought on “It’s Beginning To Look a Lot Like Christmas…More or Less

  1. Love your blog. You do too much. Glad you had a wonderful relaxing day at the spa. You certainly deserved it. Tell Phil we hope he feels better soon. Give the girls our love. Love you.

Leave a Reply

