It’s All a Balancing Act

balancing rocksToday may have been the best day of this school year.  So far.  First off, my students were all there and on time.  Secondly, they were unusually on task today, and we were able to get a lot done.  And third, it was Friday so I got to wear jeans!   Every once in awhile I have a moment where I’m teaching or working one-on-one with a student and I get this warm, fuzzy feeling that I’m doing exactly the thing I was created to do.   I had two of those moments today!

I have a few littles in my class who have really been struggling with numbers.  No matter that I’ve made more of an effort to change some of my teaching methods in order to help some of my more active learners.  They just weren’t getting it.  But today we had a breakthrough!  It was like the sun coming out from behind the clouds.  For the first time this year, all 15 of my students were able to put the numbers 1-9 in sequencial order!  Granted some of the struggling ones still had to look at their neighbors numbers to get it done, but I’m totally ok with that.  I didn’t have to physically go to their desks and walk them through it.  Oh happy day!  Also, 13 out of the 15 were able to put 10 colored unifix blocks in an A-B pattern all by themselves.  It was glorious I tell you.  Absolutely glorious!   The other moment was when I was helping the 2 who couldn’t seem to get the A-B pattern completed.  They both looked so sad that they had to wait at their desks for me to come help them.  When I finally got to the one little girl, I talked her through the color pattern and told her I was so proud of her for working so hard.  She beamed.  It made me realize how I need to step up my game when it comes to encouraging and praising them, even if they don’t get it right the 20th time.  As long as they’re trying as hard as their little selves can, I need to be content with that.

I’m also completely behind on the Christmas program and all that’s involved with that.  So this weekend I’ll be playing catch-up all while trying to keep the balance I’ve recently found between work and rest.  Things have been good.  Tomorrow things will be even better!  I’m giving myself an early birthday present: a massage and haircut at a local spa.  I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am.

I hope your weekend is as restful and productive as I hope mine to be!

 

 

Leave a Reply

