Summer School

Lately I’ve been having all kinds of crazy dreams about back-to-school.  This typically happens, but much closer to the actual start of school, not the middle of summer break!  Most of these dreams have me walking into my classroom on the first day of school, ready to welcome new students and parents, only to find that my room is still in it’s summer state.  Everthing is stacked in a big pile, nothing on the walls, etc.   It’s probably because I’ve been kicking around ideas for next year’s classroom theme.   I usually don’t start thinking about this stuff yet, but seeing as how this summer is very low-key compared to most (no traveling) I don’t have much else to think about.  So yesterday I went to the teacher supply store to scout out some ideas.  Owls are big right now (did that 2 years ago), as well as a camping theme (did that 3 years ago), and colorful chameleons (not excting to me.)

In our garage I have totes full of all the themes I’ve used in my classroom in orevious years.  At some point I know I should just start cycling through them again.  Monkeys was a fun theme!  Winnie the Pooh makes me happy, but I’m just not feeling it for this year.  No, my idea for this year is “the sunny side of the the street”.  I know, one would thing I could come up with something entirely new, but I’ve got nothing.  At least nothing that sounds like fun.  Unfortunately, I can’t figure out how to make it work.  There were some cute sun cut-outs and one sun hanging decoration, but that was it.  Which means if I do sunshine as a theme I would have to make a lot of the stuff by hand.  I could go with a beach theme which also makes me very happy and still has the sun involved.  I just don’t know what I want to do, but once I figure it out, I can spend the summer working on stuff.

I need all my teacher/creative friends to chime in here.  Thoughts? Suggestions?  Cute themes you’ve seen?

2 thoughts on “Summer School

Leave a Reply

