Big Whiner

That’s me today.  I’m feeling incredibly sorry for myself.  This week is Ichthus Festival in Kentucky and I’m not there.  The past two years we’ve gone and this year it just didn’t work out.  Marissa is taking drivers ed this week and next, and Bekah is in the thick of rehearsals for the summer musical, The Music Man, she’s in.  You can read about our past adventures here and here, and then grieve with me over us not being there.  In an effort to make myself feel better about not being able to go to Ichthus, I should make a list of the things I don’t miss about the festival.  Like the unbearable heat, inevitable storms, porta-potties, no showering, and camp cooking.  Well, that didn’t help.  For all those things I can think of good times and memories made for each one.  Ok, except the porta-potties.  There is nothing good about those.  Except that when we would run to the closest Walmart for something we forgot, the bathrooms would seem amazing.  Silver lining people. I can always find it.  It’s a gift and a curse.

Unfortunately I’m having a hard time finding the silver lining in us not doing our normal traveling this summer.   The sadness is compounded since Phil is on vacation this week and the most exciting thing we’ve done is go to the movies.  He’s spent his time working on those annoying house projects that tend to get put off.  I’m pumped that after two years of having fun colored lights hanging on my deck, for the first time there is electricity out there to plug them in!  See, silver lining.  But then I see a tweet about Ichthus and get sad again.

I’m trying to remember that this is a season.  We’re just busy with other stuff this summer. It just doesn’t feel right though.  Everything feels off.  I hppe my Ichthus friends are having fun…without me 😦

One thought on “Big Whiner

  1. Lisa hang in there. Try to think of the good things in your life like when Marissa gets her license and you don’t have to do all the driving and how proud you will be watching Bekah. Love you!

Leave a Reply

