Expensive Mistakes

For about a year now our youngest has been asking for her room to be redone.  It currently has girlly white furniture and is decorated in a safari theme.  Not babyish, but still, she’s definitely outgrown it.  Each summer break I try to work on one project around the house and this summer it’s supposed to be her room.  I’ve had a hard time getting excited about this project because their are so many steps involved to seeing it through.  I want to sell her current furniture on Craigslist to fund her new furniture which she chose from IKEA.  That would be step one.  Last time we were at IKEA we did buy the dresser she wanted since her current dresser is much too small for her clothes and they were taking over her room.  That dresser has been sitting in our garage for two months.  Yesterday we finally got some pictures of her furniture to post on Craigslist and I decided to put her dresser together.

Seeing as how half our home is filled with IKEA furniture this was not something that I didn’t think I could do.  I felt confident in working on it by myself.  I got the main part of the dresser put together and things were going fairly well.  When it came time to put the top on I picked it up and tried to line it up with the screws just as the directions pictured.  This is where things went all wrong.  The screws were not lining up and from my estimation, there was NO WAY they would!  Something was off.  Just as I was moving the top off the frame, it slipped just enough that I lost my grip.  It fell through the frame snapping the two back pieces in half.  I did not curse.  I did not cry. I just sat amidst the carnage for about 5 minutes before calling Marissa to bring me the duck tape.  I tried to fix it, but it’s done.  There is no hope.  The screws that were already in place pulled out of the wood on the three main pieces of the frame.  It’s done for.  I hadn’t even gotten to box number 2 with the drawers!  What now?

That’s the question I’ve been berating myself with since last night.  I know it was an accident, but it was an expensive accident.  If you know me, you know I love IKEA furniture, but sometimes it just doesn’t go together easily.  In my frustration last night I thought, “IKEA, you are dead to me.”  I’ve since regretted that thought, but what do I do?  I’m going to call IKEA today and see if there are any options on that end.  Their return policy is good, but I don’t think it’s that good.

I left everything sitting in Alisha’s room as it was yesterday.  Today I’ll have to face the mess and decide what’s to be done.  I’m still really mad about the whole thing.  Looking at the sunny side of things, I guess I should just go back to step one and figure out Craigslist and get her furniture listed, then go from there.

Have you ever made an expensive mistake??

**update- Thanks to duck tape and some ugly screws sticking out the top of the dresser, the thing is together.  We’ll see how long it holds up missing one whole part, and a few little hardware pieces left over at the end.

5 thoughts on “Expensive Mistakes

  1. “IKEA, you are dead to me.” Ya know, I have said that outloud more than I can count, except you can replace IKEA with Walmart, Target, Sams, Sears, etc. It is amazing, isn’t it? Our own mistakes can cause us to hate an entire department store chain in less than 30 seconds. Bless you Lisa, hopefully they will surprise you and you will find out the return policy IS that good. (At the least, maybe they will find it as defective and not your fault … that would be a bonus!)

  2. TJ, to make things even worse, I have searched all over and can’t find the receipt. Awesome. I think I’m just going to have to suck it up and say I just threw out $150. Boo.

  3. Lisa don’t beat yourself up. As they say “Don’t sweat the small stuff.” And in life that is small stuff. Love you.

Leave a Reply

