Sun, Sweat, and Tears

Yesterday was one of those days that makes me feel like I’m not a complete train wreck.  It wasn’t so much that I accomplished anything great, I just go to see something amazing.  The girls got along…all day.  That may seem a small matter, but with 3 teenage girls, believe me, emotions rule the day and can change on a dime.  Add to that the fact that they chose to spend their time together outside instead of attached to Netflix and Hulu and their laptops, and we’re talking miracle moments.

It was a flashback for me as well.  I took some time to lay on the deck in the sun and read a book.  Thanks to my 50+ sunblock I only got burnt on the part of my back I couldn’t reach.  When I was in highschool I would lay out by my grandparent’s pool and work on the perfect summer tan while listening to a Tears For Fears  cassette tape on my boombox.  These days I prefer the quiet.  The girls decided to swim and brought out the ipod and speaker…quite a step up from cassettes and boomboxes.  I think my favorite part was when the Chicken Dance came up in the random playlist and they went ahead and had a party in the pool.  We are nothing if not fun people.

I forgot to mention why we were spending so much time out of doors.  Our air conditioner seems to be broken.  We’re hoping our Dave Ramsey emergency fund covers whatever needs done.  Keeping all the windows open helps some, but with the rising temps, our house quickly gets up into the upper 80’s.  Being outside in the shade is much better.  We ended our evening with a fire in the fire pit, making s’mores and playing 20 questions.  It was a good time.  One of those things I think “real” families do on a regular basis.  You know, making memories not involving a screened device.

I’m enjoying being “the house” all the girls friends want to hang out at.  It’s fun!  On that note…I have a huge fruit salad to make as a few extra teenage girls will be here to swim in a few minutes.  It would be really cool if I could convince them to listen to some Tears For Fears 😉

One thought on “Sun, Sweat, and Tears

  1. Sounds like a great day. So glad you are able to enjoy the girls. Keep up the good work and eenjoy your summer. Hope your air conditioning gets fixed soon and does not cost you an arm and a leg. Love to all. Miss you.

Leave a Reply

