Summer Like No Other

I’m still trying to wrap my brain around the fact that we’re on summer break.  The weather hasn’t been extremely hot, more like spring, so there’s that.  Besides, I think it’s just that we’re in a different season of life.  With three teenagers in the house, things are bound to be different!

We’ve never been the kind of parents who let our lives revolve around our kids.  When they were born, as soon as I felt up to it, I left the house and resumed my normal routine.  I didn’t keep them in for weeks or whatever the recommendation is now.  When they were toddlers, we went out to eat at sit-down restaurants.  If they acted up we dealt with it and finished dinner.  When they became school-age things changed a bit and our schedules revolved around the school calendar.  We didn’t take them out of school for vacations unless absolutely necessary.  I guess as far as the norm goes our kids were involved in very little activities. Once we learned about Awana and Upward they did those programs, but that was it.  No dance, no gymnastics, no other activities.  When they switched from private school to public school, everything changed.

Which brings us to this summer.  I feel like my whole schedule revolves around theirs.  For a minute I felt slighted and even angry about it.  Then I took a step back and feel like I saw things from a different perspective.  They won’t be living with us forever.  I have precious few years left to do the day-to-day of life with them.  When they were attending the private school I taught at, I knew their grades before they did!  I felt I had control of their lives.  When they went to public school, that all changed.  I don’t know their teachers from Adam.  They are around all sorts of people and things I’d rather them not be, but the beautiful thing in all of it is that’s it’s been so good for me and them.

This summer looks to be full of piano lessons, violin lessons, driver’s ed, musical rehearsals, driving to and from their friends houses, and summer jobs.  I guess I’m feeling like this summer is not going to be what I wanted it to be, but that has to be ok.  I need to be ok with it.  I’m getting there.

Normal summers involve camping trips, at least a 2 week trip to Philly to see friends and family, and maybe a “real” vacation in there somewhere.  By real I mean somewhere we’ve never been before and have always wanted to go.  At it stands now, it doesn’t look like any of that will happen.  I’d be lying if I said that didn’t make me a little sad.  I keep trying my hardest to fit in a week to Philly, but it nearly scrambles my brain to figure it out.  It almost feels like work.  I’m not supposed to be working! It’s summer.

All that to say, this summer will be like no other.  I know fun will be had between the schedules.  I just feel like I have to be purposeful about it and make it happen.  I just hope I’m up to this challenge!

One thought on “Summer Like No Other

Leave a Reply

