Hard Stuff

It’s Friday, but I wouldn’t really know it.  It’s been like Saturday all week.  See, we’re on spring break in the Mongold house.  Phil even had the week off which turned out to be good, but not for fun reasons.  He came down with THE flu the last day he had to work, and was down for 5 days with it.  On top of the flu he’s had some gastro-intestinal issues, and for a guy who never, seriously, NEVER gets sick it was a rough week for him.  And us.  But, he’s on the mend and back to his normal self if not his normal weight.  I get sick and don’t lose anything. He gets sick and loses 10 pounds.  That’s really not fair.  So besides having to bulk back up, he’s good.

All those big plans I had for spring break just didn’t happen, and I’m good with that.  I did a lot of reading, a lot of catching up on tv shows, and a lot of sitting.  I needed that and so did this family.  We didn’t have 80,000 places to run and it was a beautiful thing!  Today the kids are gone for the day and Phil and I actually accomplished a few things on the to-do list.  The biggest one being that we cleaned out the garage.  I now have access to an extra pantry closet (for stocking up on things we use regularly when they’re on sale) and the treadmill.  I have a goal in mind, but I don’t dare share it yet seeing as how I’m sure to jinx it.  I’ll let you know as soon as I have a good week or so under my belt.  Let’s just say it involves me being way more disciplined with my time than I currently am.  It’s going to be hard, but I’ve heard it said things worth doing are.

Speaking of hard, I can’t share details, but Phil’s work schedule is changing and let’s just say it’s going to take our current life-style, shake it around and dump it out.  He’s happy about the job switch up, and I’m happy because he’s happy, but I’m very unsure of how I’m going to handle it.  Again, it’ll take discipline and it’ll be hard, but I have to make it work.

I don’t know if you’ve ever been at a major crossroads in your life, but I feel that’s where I’m standing right now.  The issue is not so much the decisions being made or actually doing anything with them.  The issue is how I’m going to handle it.  What is my attitude toward these changes going to be?  That’s the kind of crossroads I think I’m facing.  Am I going to meet these challenges head-on or mentally curl up into a fetal postition with my fingers in my ears, my eyes shut tight, and sing LaLaLaLaLa at the top of my lungs?  I think for the sake of my family I should probably go with the first one, but there will be days.  Oh, I know there will be days.  The good thing is that I am on break right now and I’m relaxed and rested, and mentally in a pretty good place.  Next week when I’m back to work and the kids are back in school and we’re back in to the day-to-day of life, we’ll see how it goes.

For now, I’m going to turn on some music that motivates me, and figure out how to hang our new blinds in the living room.  Me + power tools = ???   We shall see 😉

Leave a Reply

