Friday Favorites

Today is what is known as “Good” Friday, and while I’m thinking it’s a good day because this is the first official day off work of our spring break, that’s not why it’s so good.  In Christian circles we call this day “good” because we remember what Jesus did on a Friday long ago.  He died in our place, paying a penalty that we rightfully deserved.  We can call that good because we know the end of the story.  He didn’t just die and take our punishment, He rose again, thus giving us the chance at a new life.  If you’ve never taken Him up on His offer of new life, I encourage you to think about it.  Ask me if you’d like to know more about the new life I have.  It’s the best thing I ever did!

Now that the important stuff has been addressed…the trivial is next.  Last week when I shared some of my favorite things, people told me how informative it was into who I am.  I never thought of it that way, but it’s true. When someone tells you about their favorite things, it tells you a lot about who they are.  So here are 3 more favorites of mine:

  1. Homemade Chocolates– Recently some friends at work were on an all-natural, healthy diet of some sort and a friend shared some homemade chocolates with me.  They were amazing!  Since then I’ve made them myself numerous times.  Being the chocolate lover I am to say that I prefer them over any other store bought chocolate is kind of a huge statement, but I do.  If I don’t have a batch made and in the fridge, I will pass up Hershey’s or even Godiva till I can make some more.  And since I’m all about sharing, here’s the recipe.

Homemade “Healthy” Chocolates

  • 1/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3 Tbsp. coconut oil
  • 3 Tbsp. almond butter
  • 5 Tbsp. honey
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • pinch of sea salt
  • toasted, chopped almonds
  • optional: toasted, unsweetened coconut flakes

– cover a cookie sheet with parchment paper and place in freezer

– place the first 3 ingredients in a saucepan and cook on low to medium heat until melted and smooth

-add honey, vanilla, and sea salt and continue to stir until mixed in

-turn off heat and stir in almonds (and coconut)

-place spoonfuls on frozen cookie sheet and put back in freezer for 5-10 minutes.  Keep chocolates refrigerated (they melt!)

           2. Honey– Since I started making those chocolates, I’ve been buying honey a lot more often.  I’ve also found that honey in my coffee  is pretty amazing too!  I only do this occassionally as a treat though, since the honey has a lot more calories than the stevia I usually sweeten my coffee with.  And don’t let all this talk of “natural”, “honey”, and “stevia” make you think I’ve gone all crunchy granola on you.  I ate a cold piece of Papa John’s pizza…for breakfast.  Balance people.  It’s all about balance.

3. Draw Something–  I think I currently have 15 games going right now!  It’s like pictionary and a word guessing game combined.  So fun!  If you don’t have this app, check it out.  It’s definitely worth getting the paid app.  If you play the free one it freezes up a lot and repeats words way too much.  I’m Lisa Mongold on there if you want to start a game!

Happy Good Friday!

 

Leave a Reply

