Friday Favorites

Here are a few of my favorites lately:

1. Skotidakis Jalapeno Greek Yogurt Dip– I found this stuff at Costco, and if you don’t have a membership…oh, I am so sorry for you.  This stuff is AMAZING.  It’s not too spicy either.  It just has a nice, little kick to it.  I’ve eaten it with celery (another favorite right now), carrots, cucumbers, pita chips, and tortilla chips and it’s great with all of them!  The fact that it’s made with Greek yogurt is a bonus.

2. Painting my Nails- I’ve never really been into painting my nails on a regular basis, but lately it’s become something fun I do.  I figured out that if I’m careful, I can browse Pinterest while my nails dry.  Win-win.  My  favorite colors for Spring are OPI Mermaid Tears and Zoya Tru.  I even went to a nail salon last night just for fun.  The parents of one of my students own the place and I got to chat with them while two other ladies worked on my hands and feet.  One guy there joked that all I needed was someone to feed me grapes.  Ha!  It did feel nice to be pampered for awhile, and now my finger and toe nails are pretty in purple.

3. Coconut Oil- If you’re on Pinterest, I’m sure you’ve come across the pin for “52 uses for Coconut Oil” at some point or another.  One day I was curious (probably while I was waiting for my nails to dry) and decided to go to the link.  It was a blog singing the praises of the oil from a coconut.  Around the same time my friend was on a new kind of all natural diet and had given me the recipe for these amazing chocolates made with coconut oil.  I figured I’d get a jar and see what all the fuss was about.  Oh my word.  We’ve gone through 4 jars since that day!  My tops 5 uses are- removing eye make-up, shaving my legs, before bed moisturizing (face, hands, feet), after shower oil, and the chocolates.  It’s cleared up some annoying acne I’ve had, done away with my itchy dry skin, and my sensitive eye skin doesn’t burn anymore when I remove my make-up.  So, here I am singing it’s praises too.  The stuff is really amazing!  Try it.  For the record the best price I’ve found is at the most hated of stores (Walmart) and it’s called Spectrum Organic Coconut Oil.  It’s around $5.97 for a 14 oz. jar.  They sell the same stuff at our local health food store for $8.  CrAzY.  Although I hate Walmart with a passion you can only imagine I did go there today just for the coconut oil and they were out!  I had to buy another brand.  I figure if I’m mostly just shaving my legs with it, who cares if it’s organic!

4. Ice-  I’ve also never really been a fan of ice.  I don’t like cold, and I don’t like cold things (yes, including ice cream.  I don’t like it.)  Lately however, with the summer snap we had here at the beginning of spring it was 87 for a few days in a row and I got on an ice kick.  I drink my water room temperature, my coffee hot, and my iced tea straight from the fridge.  Those few hot days I started using a double-walled drink cup with a straw one of my students got me for Christmas full of ice.  I must say, I now enjoy my tea actually iced!  I like the cup mostly because it hold a LARGE amount of tea.  I’m easy when it comes to beverages…coffee, tea, and water.  I’m also an ice snob.  No making it at home for me.  I buy a big bag at the store and it lasts us a good 2 weeks.

So those are my favorite things lately.  How about you?  Do you have a favorite you’d like to share?  Please do!

Leave a Reply

