Saturday Special

Last night I tried to borrow an idea from Boomama’s site and was going to write a “Friday Favorites” post, but I was falling asleep while typing and never got it finished.  The OCD in me will not allow me to post a “Friday Favorites” on a Saturday, and I can’t think of a clever alliteration without checking my thesaurus which is in my phone and my phone is in the kitchen and I’m on the couch. So, you’ll just have to wait until next Friday to find out about a few of my favorite things.

I’m all about alliteration.  I’ve often thought of daily writing here with titles such as “Sharing Sundays” (posts about what spiritual truths I learned that week),  “Monday Madness” (because Mondays are always insane), “Tiny Talk Tuesday” (unfortunately this year’s class doesn’t supply enough funnies for a weekly edition…maybe monthly), “Wordless Wednesdays” (once I learn to use my new toy!!!! I will definitely do this one), “Thankful Thursdays” (keepin’ it positive on the Sunny Side), “Fun Fridays” (the fun I hope to have over the weekend), and…I’ve got nothing for Saturdays yet.  “Saturday Special” maybe.  I could talk about special things.  Like how much my husband loves me!

Let me tell you how much.  My friend jokes that my husband is wrapped, and all I have to do is think of something and he gets it for me.  Now, if that were the case, I’d have a plane ticket to Hawaii for spring break.  But I see her point.  In my classroom is a large pull-down screen for using an overhead projector.  I’ve used it once this year.  I need to be better about planning lesson that use the overhead, but I always forget about it.  I did however want a projector so I could show my class the occasional VeggieTales dvd that goes with the Bible lesson we are studying that week.  14 Pre-k-ers watching something on my laptop is like shooting oneself in the foot.  The chorus of “I can’t see!” is amazing!  I watched the ads and never found a projector worth the money.  My husband did however, and it came in the mail last week.  It was a very nice surprise!  I had hoped to show my class “Green Eggs and Ham” for Dr. Seuss’ birthday yesterday, but misplaced the dvd.  Technology is amazing and awesome, but still derailed by human error!  I still can’t find the stinkin’ dvd.  And it’s from the library!  I have no idea where I put it.

The projector is really fun and my girls have enjoyed watching “Despicable Me” (love that movie) on the ceiling while laying on the couch (a super fun way to watch something.)  But the projector is not the new toy I referred to earlier.  No, my sweet, dear, loving husband got me something I have been dropping hints about for 2 years now.  I am now the happy owner of a Canon Rebel!  What with all the busyness this week I’ve only gotten to play with it once, and because I’m a good mom, I share it with Alisha.  She’s taking a photography class at the YDC School of the Arts.  That’s fancy for saying the church where I teach.  It’s an hour-long class, once a week, given by our friend who is a great photographer.  So we share the camera.  She’s messed with it enough this week that she’s gotten some really cool shots!  Of course she also filled the memory card (it didn’t come with a very large one) with pics so that when I thought I was taking pics of my class eating green eggs and ham, I actually WASN’T.  The sadness.  They looked so fun in their “Cat in the Hat” hats eating dyed green scrambled eggs and ham.  I did have my old point and shoot and got some decent pics with that, so it’s not a total loss.  I’ll be hoping to find a summer class on how to use a DSLR camera.

I guess that is special enough for me to dub today’s post “Saturday Special” 🙂

Have a great weekend!

Weigh in on this…does the alliteration annoy you??  I really think I like them. (that’s the ocd talking 😉

 

One thought on “Saturday Special

Leave a Reply

