Sleepovers, Service, Suess, & Spa…all on a Saturday

What do these thing have in common?  Well, they’re my schedule for this weekend.  Last night Alisha finally had a sleepover for her 13th birthday (which was Jan. 10th…parent of the year candidate, right here.)  She had 4 girls over, and 3 of them are still here (update- 2 more left during the writing of this post.)   They’re currently singing “When She Loved Me” from Toy Story II with the Disney Sing It wii game.  There’s some really high notes in that song!  I think fun was had.  I hung in until 11pm and then fell asleep on the couch reading.  Take out from Olive Garden and Pizza Hut last night, and pancakes and bacon for breakfast means I actually didn’t mind since there wasn’t much to do.  Easy stuff.

The service isn’t actually me serving, but Marissa and Rebekah.  I haven’t really ever talked about how much I admire the character my girls have, but I do.  And for the record, it has nothing to do with us or our parenting skills!! It’s only by God’s grace any of us turn out ok.   Every year my two oldest daughters take part in the 30 hour famine.  Funny thing is we’ve never attended a church that participates.  One of their friend’s churches does, so they go there.  It’s a good church, but pretty far away from our house.  Basically the kids fast from food and technology for 30 hours and spend that time in individual and small group study of the Bible, and doing community service projects.  I’m so proud of them for wanting to be part of something like this.  The fast ends with a huge spaghetti dinner tonight.

In the meantime while I wait for them to need to be picked up, I’ll be helping a friend host a birthday party for her 10 year old daughter.  It’s a glam/spa party theme and I am the manicurist.  Yep. That should be interesting.  I volunteered since I somehow have to justify the fact that I’m an OPI snob who rarely ever does her nails!  My latest color is Mermaids Tears which my family declared “ugly” but I thought was fun and kicky.  I even put a silver stripe on them.  Hopefully these 10 year olds aren’t expecting much.  I can do stripes and maybe dots as far as nail art goes.  It’ll be fun!  Not as much fun as if I were going to a spa by myself, but one can always dream.

Dr. Suess’ birthday is this week!  His name is actually Theadore Suess Geisel and he’s most famous for authoring children’s books, his most famous being The Cat in the Hat.  It’s always funny to me that my students think the Cat is the author.  Every year I have to go through teaching them about Dr. Geisel.  His birthday usually sneaks up on me and we don’t have time to properly celebrate with activities in PreK…like eating green eggs and ham for snack!  This year I remembered in time!  My lesson plans will take longer, but we’ll have a lot more fun this week 🙂 It’s also going to be the Jewish holiday of Purim next week, so I’ll be teaching one of my favorite Bible stories, Queen Esther.  This week is looking to be a good one!

What does your weekend look like?  Do you tend to pack a ton of stuff in your weekend or stay home and relax?

One thought on “Sleepovers, Service, Suess, & Spa…all on a Saturday

  1. Loved your blog. Sounds like an awesome weekend by an awesome mother and friend. You and Phil certainly did have something to do with your kids being so great. Love to all.

Leave a Reply

