Family Happenings

It’s 32 and sunny with a light dusting of snow on the ground that fell through the night.  My husband just left to run (literally) to the car dealership about a mile and a half away to pick up my van.  It’s fixed: again.  This time they are charging us, which really isn’t fair since there were NO problems with it before they took the engine out to replace something-or-other-engine related 2 weeks ago. Since then two things have gone wrong and needed fixed.  Whatever.  Phil respectfully argued the point with them and they blamed it on the age of the vehicle. Riiiiight.

Anyway.  He didn’t ask ME to drive him there in his car since we’re ALL about ‘fair’ in this family, and I had to get up at 6:45 on a Saturday morning to get Bekah and her friend to the high school to catch the bus to their ISSMA choir competition.  Also, last night after we tried out a new Mexican restaurant near our house, we needed to run to Old Navy to get a nice outfit for Bekah to wear to the competition since her standard uniform for life is jeans and a long sleeve t-shirt.  Phil had us drop him home first.  Meaning I had to take Alisha and Rebekah clothes shopping myself.  I say, share the pain.  However, he did not agree.  So…he is running this morning.  Not because I made him, because he just knows.

Wow…our family is exciting, no?  We also pulled off one of our normal family dinners by leaving not enough time for an actual sit-down restaurant meal when Marissa needed to be dropped off at church for a youth outreach.  They were going to Lower Wacker Drive in Chicago to hand out hats, gloves, blankets, and sandwiches to the homeless.  We ordered our food, then she and Phil inhaled it, then he left to take her to the church while the other girls and I finished our meal.  What was funny about the scenario this time (yes, this is not the first time this has happened) was that it’s a new restaurant, and as soon as they stood up to leave, the wait-staff noticing we still had a lot of food on our table, rushed over, “Is everything ok, sir?  Is there something wrong with your meals?”  They were quite concerned.  I had to laugh at them since they looked devastated.  We explained and then it was fine.

Update: Phil made it home.  He’s mad about the cost of the car repair, but he survived his frigid jog.

Back to the shopping.  Bekah chose a really cute outfit for her choir competition today.  I’d give you a link, but the skirt is not on the Old Navy site.  Which is weird since it was yesterday.  Alisha got a cute shirt, and I got a fleece top that goes with my fleece pj pants for $2.99. Score!  Old Navy stuff is too often trendy, and doesn’t hold up well, but it’s cheap and cheap is what I’m all about these days.

While I’m on the topic of money, we have an opportunity to live it up tonight!  All 3 girls are going to sleepover at one of the youth leaders homes.  But we will not be doing anything other than going to church and back home to catch up on dvr’d episodes (so, so sad that Chuck is over 😦   See, with the dinner out last night, the shopping at Old Navy, the money Bekah needed for lunch at ISSMA today, the van repair, and the money needed to give the girls for dinner and a movie tonight, there is none left for us.  Opportunity or not, it’s all about the bottom line sometimes.  In full disclosure, I spent quite a lot of money this week myself on things I wanted and didn’t need.

Blame it on the coupons and the jeans!  I got the Ulta coupon for 20% off in the mail.  Not that one that excludes 90% of the products in the store, but the one good on almost everything.  I’ve developed a love for Benefit Cosmetics eye shadow and over the past 6 months or so when I get this great coupon, I’ve expanded my collection (for the super curious, I have get figgy, strut, and birthday suit.)  You remember this story about choosing my new eyeshadow color while blinded?  Yeah, that was spending spree #1.  I’ve also fallen in love, yes, love, with a brand of jeans.   When I, the one with a ridiculously horrible self-body image, and low self-esteem can look in the mirror and say, “Man, my butt looks good!”  you buy those jeans.  Cost is really not an issue at this point.  I’ll share my secret with you since a friend told me about them, and I’m all about sharing the love.  The brand is Hydraulic and I get mine at Macy’s (my favorites are the Lilly Slim Straight which aren’t even on their website.)  I’m not sure if they have them in skinny person sizes since I’m not skinny and mine come from the “women’s” section.  They start at 14w and go up.  And they are the bomb.  The bomb I tell you!  I bought two more pairs this week (on sale of course!) since now that I’ve found the unicorn of denim I’m so afraid they will be gone or discontinued or what have you.  This was spending spree #2.

Since I’ve got some awesome new jeans, I needed awesome boots to wear with said jeans.  This is a problem since my favorite tall, black boots have seen better days.  They’re Anne Klein, but they were hand-me-downs which I’ve been wearing for the past 6 years or so.  I’ve been looking to replace them and haven’t found anything I like.  I did find these which are nice and the same shape and style as mine, but mine have neat, white stitching on them, and I still like them better.  And for that price?  I’d better love the new ones!  I decided to try a shoe repair store.  One place told me to just get some new ones, that they were beyond hope.  Another store told me, “40 dollar. I mae lie new.”  A cute, little, older Asian man owns the shop.  He is now supposedly working miracles on my boots.  We shall see.  That was spending spree #3.  So, as you can see, the money has run through my fingers like sand at the seashore this week.  I’m curious…

What do you consider a “spending spree” or what is your weakness when it comes to shopping?

One thought on “Family Happenings

  1. My weakness are the consignment stores near (too near) our home. I have more clothes than I will ever wear. Trying to clear out and take to said stores. Lisa you deserved your shopping sprees. Congrats on the jeans. I’m sure you look awesome in them.

Leave a Reply

