Past My Bedtime

It’s late.  When I decide to write when it’s late and I’m tired…? Well, let’s just say I can barely converse with my family when I’m tired.  Case in point: after running to the grocery store with the girls after school to get the needed ingredients so I could actually make a real dinner (as opposed to cereal and milk) we got home and realized the dog was out of food.  I called Phil at work to find out what kind of food we get for the dog, since that’s “his” job.  He told me we discussed it last evening.  I have no recollection of that discussion.  Nor of us speaking at all.  In my defense, yesterday was long.

I really just wanted to give you all a quick update.  My dad was released from the hospital today and both things they were concerned about (his heart and gall bladder) are fine.  They’ll continue to watch him and do some tests, but he’s home and resting.

I saw the eye guy today.  It was like yesterday…only way more intense.  If you’re at all squeamish about eye stuff, you might want to stop reading now.  My eyes had to be dilated again, and besides the normal tests you have done at the eye doctor, I got my corneas measured.  Wonder how they do that?  Oh, let me tell you!  They numb your eyes with drops (very weird feeling) and then take something that looks like a digital thermometer and place it right on your eyeball.  Yes, that’s right…ON your eyeball.  Then it beeps for a few seconds and they do the other eye.  I was extra special today since I got to have it done not once, but twice!  Special.  I guess the doctor wanted to make sure the readings were what he thought they were.  The outcome is that the weird pulsing in my eye has no real explanation.  He did say that there are some things he sees that could become a problem later in life (he mentioned glaucoma) and wants to see me again in 6 months.  All in all it wasn’t that bad.  The eye stuff, while annoying and slightly uncomfortable never hurts, so I’m cool with that.  The whole driving with dilated eyes thing again was the worst part.  Such is life when you’re the head of transportation in the family.

Wow…look at that. Past my bedtime and I managed to string some words together!  Rest well, my friends.

2 thoughts on “Past My Bedtime

  1. You did good (blog). The eye thing doesn’t sound like fun. Glad they didn’t find anything serious wrong with your dad.

Leave a Reply

