Bumpin’ Up & Down in My Little Red Wagon

You know the phrase, “falling off the wagon”, well, I’m pretty sure at this point not only have I fallen off the wagon, it’s backed up and run me over a few times.  At least that’s how I’m feeling about a certain vice of mine these days.  Not to worry, it does not involve Nyquil.  It’s the whole cooking thing.  If this were a vlog, you could have seen the way in which my mouth curved derisively when I typed the word ‘cooking’. 

In most families it’s the mom’s job to cook the meals. It’s so 1950’s cliché, but it’s still true.  There are those rare and allusive men who enjoy cooking and do it well.  I however, did not marry one of those types…my husband will admit he can’t even boil water.  Which is surprising considering the man was a bachelor for 10 years prior to us getting married.  From what I understand he lived solely on bologna sandwiches and cereal eaten out of recycled margarine tubs.  But I digress.

Today I’d like to confess my failure in the area of cooking.  I hate it.  I really, really hate it.  I was hoping that by signing up for E-mealz I would magically become organized and consistent in meal preparation.  Not so much.  Through no fault of their’s, I assure you!  For most people, I’m sure E-mealz works great (I however am not most people.)  It could also work for me, if you know, I actually prepared the recipes.  In an effort to exonerate           E-mealz, I’d like to give you the top 5 reasons I hate to cook.

  1. Picky Eaters– There’s a difference between being ‘preferential’ and ‘picky’.  I’d say my husband prefers certain meals over others (he hates roast beef and spaghetti…which I can only think comes from the fact that when he was in the Navy that’s ALL they served on the air craft carrier upon which he served), but will generally eat what I make without complaint. Oh, and he puts ketchup on everything. I mean e-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-g.  The kids are harder to please.  One of them doesn’t like rice, but the other two do.  One doesn’t like stuffing, but the other two do. No one likes pork chops.  I can’t keep straight who likes what.  Alisha is by far the pickiest, and very few things I make meet with her approval.  I’m old school when it comes to how I like things to be…I cooked it, you eat it or go hungry.  My husband, the softy, has never played by those rules.  If they don’t like what I make, they are free to make their own something to eat instead.  A lot of cereal is consumed for dinner in this house. So I submit that I hate to cook, because no one (except myself) enjoys my cooking!
  2. The Right Tools– Because I don’t like to cook, I have a hard time justifying buying cooking tools.  I used to lie to myself (especially at Pampered Chef parties) and convince myself that if I just had that garlic press, I would totally cook more often. Wrong!  I do have drawers and cabinets full of things that  make dinner prep a little easier, but they certainly haven’t helped me be more diligent in cooking regularly.  Now I don’t even bother lying to myself.  No matter what new kitchen gadget temps me, I resist it.  Although, I DO need a new serving spoon as I left the one I had in a pot on the stove and it melted.
  3. Cooking is Dangerous (at least when I attempt it)- You can ask my family to verify this, but nearly every time I use the oven to cook or bake, I burn myself.  I’ve melted plastic spoons (see above), set tea bags on fire, set a pot holder on fire, and I drop knives and heavy dishes regularly.  I’m a danger to myself and anyone who dares venture into the kitchen when I’m cooking!
  4. Meal Planning– You know they say without a plan, you plan to fail.  Well, once E-mealz came into my life, I thought my cooking woes were over.  It really is an awesome plan, however, this goes back to having picky eaters.  Each week when I get my E-mealz meal plan, I look over it and have to determine what my family will eat.  Alisha won’t eat anything with chunks of tomato or onion in it.  Marissa doesn’t like anything that smacks of meat in a loaf form, and none of them will eat any fish or seafood.  I still try to make use of my E-mealz plans and just choose the meals my family WILL eat. However, it takes a lot more work to figure out my grocery list when I’m only making half the meals they suggest for that week. Someone did make the suggestion that I can just substitute chicken breasts in place of the fish in certain recipes.  I’m not sure it’s a good idea for me to try that as my culinary skills are severely lacking, but I like the idea.
  5. I’m Lazy– If I had to think back to the best time I’ve ever had (at least food-wise) I would say it was the Disney Cruise we went on when the girls were younger.  The food was amazing!  And it was just there…all the time.  Perfectly prepared and available with no effort on my part.  Oh, to live like that all the time!  All the picky people were satisfied as there was a plethora of choices, and since Disney goes out of it’s way to accommodate even the pickiest of eaters, if you wanted a variation on something, they would make it happen.  We’ve been on other cruises, but none of the food on those even comes close to the quality of the Disney Cruise.

So there you have it! My top five reasons why I fail when it comes to meal preparation.

Got a recipe to share? (just remember, no onions, tomatoes, fish, pork, mushrooms, etc. 😉

6 thoughts on “Bumpin’ Up & Down in My Little Red Wagon

  1. You could send me a box of those cooking gadgets =) Especially if it happens to be a pasta press, I want one of those really badly.

    I understand the whole “eat what I cook thing” and the opposite. When I was growing up my mom was the short order cook in our house. She made whatever we wanted, when we wanted, with rare exception. She was an amazing cook, but she was a softy. My brother and sister are both picky eaters, so she would make a separate batch of something like pasta sauce for them.

    On the other hand, Mike grew up with “you eat what is in front of you or you go hungry”, which is pretty common for missionary kids. We have that rule in our house “you get what you get and you don’t throw a fit”. I love cooking, but refuse to be a short order cook. My husband never complains about what I serve, he just picks out tomatoes and mushrooms if they are there.

    I don’t know what I would do if I had a picky eater for a kid, guess he would go hungry a lot.

  2. Kelly,
    every few weeks I decide I’m going to cook what I want to and the rest of them can just deal with it! That’s what I’m going to do this week 😉

    Lisa

  3. Pack up the kids and stay with us for a week. We’ll fix the picky eaters and I’ll teach you how to feed an army… and make them happy with the food on their plates. plus, we can make Kookies AND play games!!

  4. I struggled with all the above. My kids are now older, and have learned to eat mostly anything I serve (although they still complain about some meals, and the youngest, well . . . ). I got so frustrated with the amount of time I put into meal planning, shopping and prep, that I finally said the only option was to TRY the meal I made (even if you’ve tried it before . . tastes change), and then make yourself a pb & j sandwich. NO other choices. It’s not a diner where you get whatever you want, and I’m not fixing anything else after I’ve cooked one meal. That seemed to work pretty well for us, and the kids did, eventually, learn to eat more variety. Meal planning became my saving grace though, I knew what was on the menu for the night and I didn’t have to get home and start from scratch!

    • I like that idea, but my pickiest eater is allergic to peanuts. I’d have to come up witha different sandwich alternative. I agree that meal planning is the key to less stressful dinners. I went through all the E-mealz recipes my family can agree on and that’s our plan for this week. I’ll let you know how it goes! Thanks for stopping by 🙂 Lisa

Leave a Reply

