The New Normal

One of the perks of being a teacher is that I get the summers off.  I have no idea how people work year round and not lose it.  I would.  Shoot, it’s pushing it for me to work part time only during the school year!  I was offered a full time teaching position and turned it down, because I know my limitations.  Even though I’m “off” for the summer thoughts of next school year loom large in my head and I can literally hear the summer minutes ticking away.

The weather has been crappy too.  It’s currently 62 and cold.  Really?!?  So much for days spent swimming in the pool.  I know, summer just “officially” started, but it’s really making it hard to enjoy the time off.  This summer I gave myself 3 goals: 1. to be more sociable- invite people over, spend time with friends, make new ones  2. organize the entire house- get rid of everything we don’t need  3. get back into running regularly.   So far I feel like I’m failing miserably at all of these.

I got a good start with the running a few weeks ago, but I’ve lost the drive.  That could be because the past few days I haven’t been able to breathe when sitting down, let alone moving.  I’m pretty sure it’s allergy-related, but I’ve used my rescue inhaler more times in the past 2 days than in the past 2 years! It’s that bad.  So, I guess I can give myself a break on the running.  As for having people over, well, I need to get this house cleaned to do that and to get the house clean, I feel like it needs to be organized.  Which it’s not.

When we came home from camping in Kentucky, we threw all of our damp camping equipment in the garage in a pile.  It’s still there.  It all needs to be taken out, set up, and cleaned.  That sounds like fun, huh?  I’ve managed to get through most of the laundry, but that pile of camping stuff mocks me every time I go through the garage.

I thought when summer came my days of running back and forth across town ferrying my children to and fro would end. Ha! With Bekah in Les Miserables and Marissa having a summer babysitting job (and always wanting to go somewhere, anywhere but home) I’m just as busy being a taxi.  Bekah has 2 friends who need rides to and from rehearsals also, so I’m the “Les Misarabus.”  I don’t mind doing it, it’s just that I need to keep reminding myself that it’s the new normal for our summer.  Poor Alisha is just bored.  She has no job and no summer activities and no friends that live close by.  I’m not one of those moms that kept my kids entertained, and I don’t intend to start now!  She’s been helping with the organizing a little bit, but even I get sick of doing that.

What’s your summer ‘normal’ look like?

2 thoughts on “The New Normal

  1. Ours will be about as much fun as yours but at least you got to go away. We’re downsizing, packing and moving. Guess we will have a yard sale and anything that does not go will go directly to David’s truck to go to Goodwill – not coming back into house. BTW, you need to go easier on yourself and take a break. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

