Is it Friday yet?

That’s usually my thought by Wednesday, and I’m just praying for the strength to get through the rest of the week. This week’s a little different. Today feels like Friday!  At least the work part of it.  Tomorrow and Friday I get to go to the Illinois ASCD Pre-Kindergarten and Kindergarten Conference. I’m pumped!  It’s a great conference and I always learn a lot and get some really great ideas to use in my classroom.  The best thing about it though, is that the conference is in a hotel across the street from IKEA.  Oh friends, my joy knows no bounds!  The only downside is that it starts at the butt-crack of dawn.  You know, like 7:30am.  Which in reality is not all that early, unless of course you’re an hour away from the conference.  However, my husband loves me so very much he rearranged his work schedule so as to ferry the children about for 2 days while I go to Schaumburg, IL.  He not only got me a hotel for the night so I don’t have to do the crazy driving thing back and forth (have you seen the price of gas?!?), but he knows that the shopping in Schaumburg is amazing. And I love me some shopping!  IKEA and Land’s End…I’m coming! That is if I ever get packed.

In order to get packed one needs clothing, preferably clean clothes.  Clean in not the issue really. More like dry.  Last Friday our dryer gave up the ghost. Or the heat as it were.  Upon coming home from work I realized the dryer was still running.  I’d put a load in before I left for work that morning.  That seemed wrong and when I checked, the clothes were still wet. Nice.  This was the second dryer of our married life.  As a wedding gift, Phil’s sister had given us a washer and dryer.  We will be married for 18 years this May.  Not bad considering the washer still worked fine.  We decided it would probably best just to replace both, and so spent the whole weekend researching and shopping for washers and dryers.  Best Buy really was just that, and they delivered our new Whirlpool Cabrio  set on Tuesday (aren’t they pretty?)  Phil was going to install them himself.  Which he did…after 3 trips to the hardware store!  The first hose he bought was not long enough.  He went back to get the right size, and got home to open it and find out it was obviously repackaged since it was shorter than the first one.  To say he was mad? Well, huge understatement. The washer worked fine after that mess was worked out and when I went to get the load out of the new dryer this afternoon, it was still damp.  Really?!?  I checked the settings and turned it on again.  When I checked on it in 30 min, there was what looked like smoke (not steam…it wasn’t that cold today) coming out of the vent, and the windows were full of condensation.  I quickly shut the dryer off and tried to figure out what was going on. It was a vent thing, not a dryer thing. All is well, and nothing was on fire.

Long story short, 3 Lowe’s employees, $20 at Lowe’s, NO help from anyone at Menard’s, $10 there, two cuts on my fingers, and traipsing through the rainy, foggy, dark yard in Phil’s boots with a flashlight…I fixed it! That’s right, ME!  It’s working beautifully and drying the clothes I need to pack in my suitcase. To be ready to leave at dark-thirty. (You all know I’m a NAMP, right?)

My life…it is constant excitement.

 

 

One thought on “Is it Friday yet?

  1. I read your comment on Jon Acuff’s blog and Googled your blog out of curiosity. I’m a FAN, not a jerk commenting on your post! 🙂 Sounds like quite an adventure just to get clean clothes! I guess I have all kinds of domestic drama to look forward to when I’m married. Enjoy your trip to Schaumburg… I love me some Ikea, too!

Leave a Reply

