Go Big or Go Home

The producer of the morning show we  listen to on the way to school in the morning had that to say to the blizzard. It’s definitely going big!

The view out my front window

Crazy amounts of snow are falling here, and every time I think it’s slowing up I find I’m mistaken.  We’re good though.  We have plenty of food and coffee (very important in blizzard conditions.)  We don’t have school today, of course, but Phil had to go to work.  I haven’t talked to him yet to see how his drive in was, but hopefully he calls on his lunch break.  Last night he used the snow blower on our driveway 3 times through the evening, and it doesn’t look like it’s been touched. It’s the drifting.  I was watching this neighbor work on his driveway, and the drifts look like they’re about 4 feet.  Thankfully 12 year old’s think it’s cool to be out in a blizzard, so I had Alisha go out and shovel a path for the dog.  The drifts in our screened in porch were about 2 feet, and poor Patches isn’t even that tall.  She said it was fun. Ha! So glad I didn’t have to do that.  If I were a really good wife I’d get out there and try to shovel the driveway some.  The snow blower frightens me, and there’s no way I’m even going to touch that thing!

Last night despite the blizzard, we still had ladies Bible study.  Not in person, but online. It was kind of neat.  I got to sit on my couch in my pjs with a cup of coffee and chat (in type and with the mic) about what it means to be ‘blessed’.  A word I’ve honestly come to abhor due to it’s overuse and in my opinion, misuse.  I got some good insight, and it was a really good time.  I still prefer to be in the room with my girlfriends studying God’s Word together, but with crazy snow like this, it was awesome that we had an alternative.

I’ve also come to the conclusion that I am ridiculously lazy and selfish.  I’ve done nothing…nothing...worthwhile in this last month.  Call it the winter blues or whatever, but I’ve decided that it’s not the end of the world.  Although if you look at the crazy weather and the state of the world it can sure seem like that’s not far off! So I took a month off from being responsible? Who cares?  My house is still dirty. It’ll get dirty again, even if I clean it.  Two things will cause me to clean my house.  #1- someone is coming over #2- I can no longer stand it.  Since we’re snowed in (and thus others are snowed out) that’s not a valid reason.  I’m close to being no longer able to live in this mess. Close, but not there. So, I think I shall take a shower, put on more pajamas, and sit on my couch with netflix and my laptop.

Call me lazy…or happy. Both are very true.

 

4 thoughts on “Go Big or Go Home

  1. I love the picture of Alisha! So glad she has a sense of adventure and fun! Enjoy being snowed in, it won’t last forever(although it might seem like it)

  2. Ya know, it’s times like these that I miss living in the Northeast. Of course, the thought of shoveling snow or fighting with the driver of the snowplow (who thinks it’s funny to undo the work I did at the end of the driveway) is not really appealing; but being closed in with the family with no place to go sometimes would be a really nice change of pace for me.

  3. so many things got me here!! First, do we even have to talk about your having enough coffee to get you through (totally blessed me). Second, shall we talk about the over use of blessed? Ya, we shall. I know it’s overused, but if you stop and think about the person using the words, doesn’t it change your thinking or do I just add to your abhor of the use of the word, doesn’t really matter, I know you know me and why I had to bring it up! 3rd, don’t you just love that 12 year old that loves getting stuff done and isn’t afraid of the snow! Me too! And 4th, I was snowed in during that stuff, so I totally get your heart!

Leave a Reply

