What a week!

Our Christmas tree with the crazy "FF5" top hat tree topper.

This time of the year is always crazy-busy for me.  This year being no exception. The difference is I’m enjoying myself in the midst of the busyness this time.  If my house is any indication, this week has been off the charts.

My counter is piled high with Christmas gifts that need wrapped and shipped across the country, Christmas cards that still need to be written in, addressed, and sent, and about 50 receipts that need entered into the check book.  Let’s hope when I get to that it doesn’t ruin the day.

Phil is still working tons of overtime.  He’s currently taking a nap.  Last night we had the wonderful opportunity to see some good friends in concert along with BarlowGirl. So, so glad we got to see them!  I love them dearly and we only get to spend time together once or twice a year.  Even though the tour took them an hour away from us Thursday night, we opted for the Friday night concert  3 hours away on a non-school night.  The weather cooperated and we had a great time!  Those friends are all now on the road to Minnesota in the middle of a blizzard. Following their tweets, the bus was stuck, now is unstuck, but the roads are treacherous.  Praying for their safety!  The tour is over this weekend and they head home Monday. My friends Amanda and Shannon came with us and spent the night here since we got home so late.  We had bacon and French toast and coffee, and watched the Eureka Christmas special this morning. It was so very fun!

This week my best friend since middle school had her 2nd baby, and oh my WORD the sweetness!  I was able to be there with her the first week after she had her first baby (18 months ago), but since things are in a huge time of transition and somewhat chaotic at work right now, there is no way I can leave and head back to Philly.  I’m sad.  But I’m also happy because our Christmas break from school is so crazy late this year, I’ll be able to spend the whole week between Christmas and New Years in Philly with her!  I can’t wait to see them.  My sister-in-law and brother just found out they’re expecting their first too.  So, I am totally prepared to be the best auntie in the world to my Philly family!  I’m  having a VERY hard time not buying every cute baby thing I see right now.  If it’s soft and fuzzy and screams of baby cuteness it usually ends up in my cart.

Our school Christmas program is this Tuesday night, and I still have to make 26 party hats this weekend.  It’s funny how now that I’m the only ‘official’ teacher left at our school and everything as far as planning and implementing was kind of on my shoulders, it’s also the least stressed I’ve ever been about a school program.  The kids can pick up on that, and practices have been fun and they’re going SO well.  The two year old’s are going to bring the house down singing their “Little Snowflake” song.  Again with the cuteness factor! It’s just doing me in this year.  I see cute and I melt like butter.

Speaking of butter, it’s caramel corn time!  I’ve already make a few batches this season, but over the next two weeks, it’ll be a regular caramel corn shop in my kitchen.  What with all the making of caramel corn, packaging and shipping of it, I will again be firm in my decision why I will NEVER sell it as a business.  I make it in love for those I love.  End of story.  Now a lot of my regular readers and commenters are already on my list of people who will receive some in the mail, but if you’re someone who has never had my famous (haha) homemade caramel corn and you’d like some, let me know.  I’ll see what I can do.  If you live in the Chicagoland area, even better!  I might even hand deliver it 😉  Cheaper than shipping (which is getting to be ridiculous in cost!!)  I was trying to figure out how much stamps for Christmas cards were going to cost me this year.  It’s a lot.  So, if there’s no gift card in that Christmas gift I sent you, well, I spent THAT money on the postage.

I have a lot of words in me today! Sorry.  It’s just I’m so excited about life right now, and I just have so much positive pouring out of me at the moment, I just have to share it.  I’m even feeling positive about the fact that I have to get this house organized for the equally crazy week ahead.  That’s just my meds and the 4 cups of coffee I had kicking in.  It’s currently raining and gray, and that rain will most likely be snow by tonight.  I’m ok with that. I may just stay in my pjs ALL day.

Oh, and my birthday is this week, and I’m throwing myself a party.  It’s not as tacky as it sounds.  I’ll tell you all about it later 🙂

What are you up to this fine Saturday?

4 thoughts on “What a week!

  1. Glad all is going well for you and that you are enjoying the Christmas season. Since you are not starting a caramel corn business if you ever want to share that recipe, I would love to have it.

  2. So glad you’re not feeling stressed. Your blog was so upbeat. Hope I’m going to get to see you when you are here. Love you and miss you!

Leave a Reply

