Happy Sunday!

Ahhh, Sunday morning! I used to dread it, but now…it’s love.  Our new church has Saturday night service, and for someone who is decidedly NOT a morning person, this is a beautiful thing.  I sip coffee, go through the newspaper at a leisurely pace, and then have a 2nd cup of coffee. Good, good times.

Yesterday I spent most of my afternoon decorating the house for Christmas.  My family didn’t participate at all.  This kind of made me sad, but I know it’s just not their thing, and for some reason this year my excitement about the Christmas season is off the charts compared to other years.  I’m in a much, much better place than I was a year ago.  Looking at the obvious, not much is different in my life, but the inside stuff, the stuff of my heart that you can’t see, well, that’s where things are very different.  And it’s a good thing.  I’ve changed.  I’ve grown.  I’m finding joy in life again.  Since the Christmas season is all about joy and hope, I’m embracing it with all that I am.

That being said, for the first time in 3 years, I’m going to send out Christmas cards!  I found some cards I thought were really cute at Target. And then some others at Hobby Lobby that had a great verse in them.  Then when I pulled all the Christmas boxes out of the attic I found a box of cards I bought last year that I never sent.  Nice. I didn’t say I was more ‘with it’ than I was last year, just better at handling my mess-ups 😉  So, I guess I’ll be returning some cards this week.  That’s ok since my kids have decided they want this crazy tree topper they saw at Hobby Lobby, and I need to get us new stockings.  Shopping!  Our old ones kind of melted together (they had fabric paint on them) in the attic over the summer (oops.)  I think I’m going to let everyone pick out their own. The stocking they like best.  Which means they won’t match.  Which proves just how far I’ve come in the last year.

What are you up to this Sunday??

3 thoughts on “Happy Sunday!

  1. Love this post! Amazing how a change in the inside can totally transform the way we see the outside! 🙂 I disliked Christmas for years but it’s recently become a great time of year for me.

    Love you! Happy shopping!

  2. Glad Christmas is filled with joy for you this year! My family had an individual stocking for each child. I LOVED my stocking. It got destroyed about 10 years ago and I still mourn it…always say I’m going to make a copy of it, but I haven’t yet.

Leave a Reply

