Story Time

I was going to blog tired and random today, but I’m pretty sure it would just come off as me hating on life.  Which I really don’t…hate life that is.  It’s just kind of how I’m feeling right now…in this moment.   Because not unlike drinking and driving, blogging when I’m this tired (physically, mentally, emotionally, and in ever -ally you can think) is an accident waiting to happen.  So I shall blog responsibly and tell you a story instead.

It’s an old story with an updated twist. Maybe it’s because of my job, or just who I am, but this is how I think through the things of my life, and scary as this may be, I thought I’d share. So, grab a cup of coffee (or tea if you’re one of those people…I guess hot chocolate would be ok too;-) and enjoy, “The Little Red Mom.”  And just so we’re clear, I’ve totally taken ‘creative license’ to this story.

One autumn day, the Little Red Mom went to the cabinet and found it empty.  “Oh dear!” said the Little Red Mom to herself. “I must make a grocery list.”  She asked the Oldest: “Will you help me make a grocery list?”  “Not I!” said the Oldest.  She asked the Middle One: “Will you help me make a grocery list?”  “Not I!” said the Middle One.  She asked the Littlest: “Will you help me make a grocery list?” “Not I!” said the Littlest.

“Then I will make the list myself,” said the Little Red Mom. And she did.

Soon the list was done, and the Little Red Mom knew it was time to go to the store.  “Who will help me do the shopping?” she asked.  “Not I!” said the Oldest.  “Not I!” said the Middle One.  “Not I!” said the Littlest.

“Then I will go shopping for groceries myself,” said the Little Red Mom.  And she did.

She got the groceries at the store, and when she got home they were  ready to be carried into the house.  “Who will help me carry the groceries into the house?” she asked.  “Not I!” said the Oldest.  “Not I!” said the Middle One.  “Not I!” said the Littlest.

“Then I will carry them in myself, ” said the Little Red Mom. And she did.  She carried those groceries up the stairs and into the house.

When she got them in the house, she asked, “Who will help me put these groceries away?” “Not I!” said the Oldest.  “Not I!” said the Middle One.  “Not I!” said the Littlest.

“Then I will put the groceries away myself,” said the Little Red Mom. And she did.  Soon all the groceries were put away, and it was time to make dinner.

“Who will help me make dinner?” said the Little Red Mom.  “Not I!” said the Oldest.  “Not I!” said the Middle One.  “Not I!” said the Littlest.

“Then I will make it myself,” said the Little Red Mom.  And she did. After the dinner was made it was set on the table to cool.

“And now, ” said the Little Red Mom, “who will help me eat dinner?” “I will!” said the Oldest. “I will!” said the Middle One.  “I will!” said the Littlest.

“No, I will eat it myself!” said the Little Red Mom. And she did.

The. End.

4 thoughts on “Story Time

  1. Let’s see if I can add this story up….

    “this bed’s too hard”

    “this bed’s too soft”

    “but, wait!!! this bed’s juuussst right”

    Oh, wait! Wrong story.

    Never mind….

  2. love it! SOOOO SOOO true!! Kuddos on your choice of what to blog! BTW, I knew you were praying this week for me, I KNEW and I was counting on it! Thank you! I love you!! You’ve always been a good friend to me!

Leave a Reply

