Bad, Bad Blogger

Oh how far I’ve come from the days where I posted something every day.  I’d love to say I aspire to getting back to that, but honestly, at this point in my life I don’t have the time.

My girls are involved in stuff, and I’m glad for that, but it sucks up my time for sure!  Marissa has joined the group “Future Educators of America” (FEA) and they meet at least once or twice a week after school.  Alisha is going to be part of a science olympiad team starting this week, and Rebekah is taking piano lessons.  It doesn’t sound like much, and it really isn’t, but the driving back and forth is killing me.  It’s the different times they’re getting done with school or meetings.  I’m pretty sure I drive back and forth from home to school to home to another school so much my car could do it by itself. Which would be really cool, ’cause then I could zone out and not think.  Sadly, this is not the syfy town of Eureka, and it doesn’t work like that. All the traffic in town is definitely increasing my ability to be patient with bad drivers. It’s either that or lose it and give in to the road rage.

As for me, I’m trying to find some balance.  I recently realized that most of my real friends are ones I never get to see.  I have one friend who is as purposeful about spending time with me as I am with her.  Everyone is busy. I get that.  But I need friends.  So, when things come up and I am invited places, I feel like I should drop whatever else is going on to be able to go.  Is that desperate?  I’m not sure anymore.  I actually thought of asking someone whose blog I’ve been reading for awhile now to go out to dinner.  She lives fairly close by.  I’m just not sure though.  We tweet each other.  Does that count as being ‘friends’?  I know a lot of this had to do with the fact that we aren’t really plugged in at church yet.  And I also know those of you who would say to jump in and get involved.  Baggage people…I have lots of it.  I’m working on it.  I tried to go to small group. I really did.  I went one week.  I’m just not there yet.  I do have a group of ladies who I do a Bible study with so it’s not like I’m totally alone or backsliding.  Just to put your minds at ease 🙂  Not sure where I was going with all this other than to say, I miss having good friends.  Friends that live close, who I can hang with “just because.”  I’m not whining…really.  I’m just telling you what I miss and need in my life right now.

Other than that…things are great!  I’ve done lots of fun things I should blog about.  I will. Soon.  Oh, and our cruise is coming up next month!! You will be hearing a LOT about that as I am so excited I can hardly contain myself.  In an effort to not hate myself in a swimsuit on said cruise, I have been extra careful about my eating habits lately. And it’s paying off! I’ve lost 15 pounds in 2 months, and I’m feeling really good about that.  The only downside is that some of my clothes (the staples) in my closet are much too loose now.  I really don’t want to buy new clothes yet, as I’m still losing (yeah for that!)  So, if you see me wearing the same thing every time you run into me…that’s why 🙂

Thanks for reading! How have you all been?

2 thoughts on “Bad, Bad Blogger

  1. Lisa, congratulations on the weight loss. I know how good it feelsbecause I feel so much better about myself since I lost weight. Nothing fits me but I’ve been going to Goodwill. As for friends, ask your blog friend; you might be glad you did. Love to all!

  2. I read your blog from time to time to encourage myself. I remember the good times there at Laurel and the ups and downs. You stuck it out. Your girls are blessed. And your honesty in your blogs is so uplifting. I wish you the best. Sometimes we just need to know that someone out there cares about us. I just wanted to tell you I love you and I am praying for you.

Leave a Reply

