Tiny Talk Tuesday

Well! It’s sure been awhile since I’ve done one of these.  I’ve been trying to write down the funny things my students have been saying since school started, but honestly, I don’t have much. This year’s class is either not very funny, or my sense of humor is harder to find.  I’m figuring it’s the latter.  I feel outnumbered this year, with 15 students, and they’re a young group too.  My days are very tiring!  It makes me all the more thankful that they say such cute and charming things 🙂 Enjoy.

We were having popcorn for snack one day, and the kids were telling me about the movies they’d seen recently (because you know, if you give a kid some popcorn…chances are they’ll want to watch a movie 😉  One of the boys said, “I went to the feeter and saw “Tornado Meatballs.” (translation: I went to the theater to see “Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs.)

While reviewing the Creation story, I asked the kids what God took from Adam’s side to make Eve.  They weren’t remembering so I told them it was a bone from his side, and asked if they remembered what the bone was called (I throw a little health lesson in there too when I teach this story.)  One little boy excitedly raised his hand and said, “It was his wrist, I know it’s his wrist!”

One day during center time one of the boys came over to my desk from the kitchen center and said, “Can you get this bakery off me.” (translation: untie this apron)

After snack one day, I asked one of the boys to pick up the pretzels from under his desk. As he got down on the floor to pick them up, he almost stepped on one.  I called out for him to stop because there was a pretzel under his foot. From his vantage point, he couldn’t see it.  He wiggled his foot around till he saw it, and then said, “Great eyes, Mrs. Mongold!” (He said it  like he was telling me I was the most talented person in the universe. Lol.)

This year I had a number of students start in the weeks after the first day of school.  Because of this, there were some parents I didn’t get the chance to meet until after their kids had been in school a few days (due to whether mom or dad was dropping off and picking up and such.)  One mom came in the class to introduce herself to me, and when I told her my name (Mrs. Mongold) she looked surprised and told me her daughter had been calling me, “Mrs. Ruffle.” That cracked me up.  However, she is a very smart little girl because so many of the cute new fall clothes I see and love have ruffles! Like this one.

Bible lesson always brings out the best conversations.  We were talking about the Creation story and how God ‘rested’ on the 7th day.  I was teaching them that it wasn’t a rest like we need because we get tired, because God NEVER gets tired.  The Bible says He never sleeps, and that He’s always watching over us.  One little girl looked at me incredulously and asked, “But does God relax??” I posted that on my fb page and wow…I got some interesting answers from the grown-ups! Can you say ‘theological debate’??

Almost every day one little girl asks me, “Can I art?” (translation: can I play in the art center.)

During snack one day, a little girl raised her hand and asked me, “May I have more ice cubes?” I told her I wasn’t sure what she meant. I’ve never given them ice cubes.  She asked me the same question. I told her I still didn’t know what she was talking about, and that I didn’t have any ice cubes.  Finally she said, “Can I clean up?”  It finally dawned on me…to her “May I be excused” apparently sounds like “May I have more ice cubes?”  We’d been working on manners that week.

The computer the kids use in the library center for educational games has been acting a bit wonky this year.  It tends to freeze up a lot and has been a big source of frustration.  One of the boys came to tell me the game was stuck on the monkey, and wouldn’t move.  I told him the computer was frozen again and I would have to turn it off, then back on and we would see if we could get it to work.  As we sat there waiting for it to reboot, he said, “That’s why it’s frozen! There’s ice in there!” (the gateway logo that looks like a cube came on the screen)

So, there you have it folks. The first installment of ‘Tiny Talk Tuesday’ for this school year.  I’m sure there will be many more funny things said to me this year.  I’ll keep you posted.

4 thoughts on “Tiny Talk Tuesday

  1. Wow this really made me smile. What a treasure to discover these little moments of seeing the world through there little eyes but sponge-like minds! Love it! Please share more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

