Routine

This summer is what I’m mentally referring to as the ‘summer of me’.  Sounds selfish doesn’t it?  This summer I did something that I’m always told is good for me.  Something that too often gets pushed to the side.  Ok, so it could have been in more balance than I made it, but hey, the outcome has been great.  This summer my basic philosophy was if I didn’t feel like doing it, I didn’t.  Oh, and…have as much fun as possible.

Having a summer such as this has really reset my stress triggers it seems.  Back to school is typically one of my busiest and most stressful times of the year.  While I’ve complained about all the lines and book fees and whatnot, in all reality, I’ve handled things WAY better than I would  have in the past.  I really believe it’s because I took so much time to give myself a break this summer.  If only mentally some days.  I’m pretty hard on myself for not being perfect at all times.  This summer I gave myself permission to suck at stuff. (Like keeping the house clean and staying on top of the laundry, and wearing makeup.)  I just didn’t care.  Did my family suffer at all?  Not really. I mean, how earth-shattering is it if a certain shirt is not clean when you wanted to wear it? It’s not. Wear something else.  Again, that whole ‘perfect image’ thing comes into play.  I just really allowed myself to not care about what others thought, and even more importantly, what I thought about me.  Everyone should have a summer like I had!  The world would be a happier place 🙂

With that being said, trying to get back into some sort of routine for back to school is likely to kill me.  Not really, but it sure as heck feels that way!  A summer of freedom, only to be back into the bondage of a schedule is well, restricting.   And if I could go down a rabbit trail…these cicadas that are overtaking NWI are really freaky! There is one crawling across the screen as I type, and they are so huge and strange looking.  Thank goodness he’s outside!  So anyway, getting back into a routine has been really hard, but the good news is that I’m not as stressed about it.

I’m not really sure what my point is in telling you all of this, except that it’s really changed the way I think.  God intends for us to enjoy life, not be stressed about it all the time.  I’ve found that since I’m calmer and happier, I’m more apt to see others’ needs and way more willing to help them.

So, give yourself permission to do something you LOVE today.  We’ll all be better off for it!

3 thoughts on “Routine

  1. Lisa, finally you did something for yourself. I am so happy for you. As I’ve said before, you write such interesting blogs and I always enjoy them so much and they make me feel closer to you. You had an awesome summer and that is good! You are finally thinking like I do and that is that your kids will remember what you did WITH them not whether the house was clean or the laundry done, etc. Way to go, girl!!

  2. I just read this and it really blessed me. I had a lot of stress from being back in school and working. I couldn’t keep my peace and my grades suffered. Rick and I felt the frustration was from trying to spread myself too thin. So, I quit my job about two weeks ago, have spent Saturdays doing something fun and just focused on my schooling. These last four months are the hardest but I can honestly say I feel good about them. I am not stressed and overwhelmed and tired. I am rested and excited and that’s so good for me. We are trusting God to take care of the rest. Thanks for your input. It really encourage me.

Leave a Reply

