How Much Vacation Can YOU handle?

When I woke up this morning, I literally wrote a whole post in my head. It was deep, and somewhat profound.  However, being that I’m not at all a rapid riser (I wake at the speed of paint drying) by the time I made it to my computer my short-term memory loss had set in and I can’t remember a darn thing. Ok…I remember some of it, but it doesn’t seem nearly as profound now.  Whatever.  Back to the fluff and nonsense of my life.

On July 15th, the girls and I (Phil sadly had to work and couldn’t accompany us on this trip) hopped in the car and headed East.  After 9 hours in the car (with me being the only driver) we arrived at our first stop, the Super 8 in Mifflinville, PA.  It was kinda shady, but not as bad as some I’ve seen.  We spent the night there, and then visited my Dad the next morning and afternoon.

Back in the van to head to Downingtown, PA to stay with our good friends, James and Sarah, and their adorable baby girl, Sheridan. Love her so much!  They live in a beautiful home in a very wooded area.  It’s simply gorgeous!  Sarah is an interior designer, so their whole home (and guest room) looks like it came straight out of a magazine.  I felt like I was staying in a B&B.  I can’t thank them enough for letting us invade their home! I hope they don’t get mad that I shared this beautiful view from their guest room.

Saturday morning I drove another hour to meet up with a friend from high school at a playground so her little guy could play and we could chat. Good times!  The girls and I stopped at the outlet mall after that, because well, great shopping…it calls to me.  I bought these flip-flops so I didn’t have to steal borrow Bekah’s anymore.  We then met up with my Mom and my Aunt for lunch at the VERY BEST Italian deli.  I ate a real hoagie!  Oh my goodness…so good!  We even had a freshly, homemade cannoli.  Um…calories don’t count on vacation.

Sunday was spent with my best friend, Barb and her family.  Her Baby B is beyond cuteness!  Oh my word…she stole my heart!  She just turned one, and her favorite word is, “Wow!”  She points to something and says it in a breathless with wonder kind of way.  B also points to things and says, “Yellow!” whether they be yellow or not.  Ridiculously cute!  In her one short year of life, the girl has already had 4 real haircuts.  She has a serious head of hair!  The best news is that Barb just found out she’s having a baby boy sometime in December!  So happy for my friend.

Monday we were supposed to go to Hershey Park, but we woke to a full-on thunderstorm.  It was supposed to storm off and on all day, so we went to plan B.  The mall!  And not just any mall mind you, THE mall I hung out at all through my high school years.  Some things were very different, but some were the exact same! (really?? The ‘Deb’ store is still in the same spot and still in business?!?)  My Mom had taken the day off and it was great to spend the day with her (in air conditioned places.)  We went to see Toy Story 3, which I thoroughly enjoyed, and had lunch at Ruby’s Diner (which is seriously overpriced, imo.)

Tuesday…well, Tuesday started my favorite part of the trip.  We packed up all our stuff and headed to Cape May, NJ.  The beach!!  I’m going to leave you hanging on this one, but I will share one pic with you.  Tune in tomorrow for the rest of our vacation story. 

2 thoughts on “How Much Vacation Can YOU handle?

  1. And now laundry all week, right??

    I cannot believe you went from 1 vacation into a festival! You rolled it out & went with it! Most of your tweets were even-tempered. I would have been stir crazy with that schedule! At least now. I used to could do that pace!!! (love my grammar?)

  2. You go girl! Sounds like you had some fun times. I love to travel but sadly I do not get to do very much of it. I plan to make up for it when I retire.

Leave a Reply

