Last Resort

I’m on a diet.  I hate that word for so many, many reasons.  The first being that ‘diet’ simply means what we eat.  So, I guess I’m just choosing to eat less and watch the calories I take in each day.  Which is really no fun at all.  At. All.

I’ve struggled with staying at a healthy weight most of my life (the parts I can remember anyway.)  From being anorexic-thin in high school, to being way overweight after having my girls.  I lost a lot when Alisha was a toddler by being a part of our church’s step aerobics group. Ah…those were the days.  Free childcare and free aerobics.  Fast forward to me having to get a job and WORK, and having to PAY if I want to be part of an exercise class, and you find my weight hitting what the doctor’s chart deems ‘obese’.  I don’t feel obese, but whatever.  Apparently 5′ 5.5″ and 200 lbs is obese.

Running was working at shedding some pounds and helping to get me healthy, but I screwed up my hip (pretty royally I might add) by doing that, and it doesn’t look like I’ll be able to run again any time soon…if ever.   I tried riding a bike, at least the stationary bike at the gym, and that is not my thing.  My butt hurt too bad from those uncomfortable seats!  I can’t imagine it would be any different on my bike.  When I use the elliptical, my toes fall asleep.  Weird, I know, but I can’t have my toes falling off, now can I? I’ve been trying to swim every day, which burns quite a few calories (which means I can add them to my daily allowance and eat more.)  Which is quite an encouragement to get in the pool and swim those laps!

So, this really IS my last resort.  I decided to cut calories in my diet mostly because a friend of ours lost 56 pounds in 6 months by doing nothing but changing his eating habits.  He didn’t exercise once!  Then again, he is a HE, and from what I’ve seen, guys sometimes have an easier time of losing.  Just sayin’.  I’ve downloaded the ‘myfitnesspal’ app and thanks to my (at present time) untreated OCD tendencies, I’ve been really good at keeping track of what I’m eating.  Who knows what will happen when I start back on my meds tomorrow.  I can only hope I still try to eat within my allotted 1,600 calories per day. I’ve been making really healthy choices for that 1,6oo calories though.  Lots of fresh fruits and veggies, and lean meats.  Hungy Girl has been my BEST friend!

Unfortunately there have been some negative side effects from all this.  Mainly me turning into a crabby, mean person.  I’m hoping that my body gets used to this soon, and I start to see some results.  I just want to be happy in my own skin, and I’m just not there yet.

What kind of ‘diet’ are you on?  Do you watch what you eat?

5 thoughts on “Last Resort

  1. As I sit eating an entire column of Ritz crackers, I know I need to be back on a diet. Or at the very least, an easy healthy eating program. Sigh.

    Likely I’ll return to South Beach. I feel your pain, girlfriend.

  2. Ok – so I’m the wife of the friend that lost the 55 pounds – not an easy task. Like Lisa he’s a little OCD which is a good thing when you count the 14 pistachios you are going to eat for your 2:00 snack, and weight the 1 ounce of low-fat cheese for your 2:00 snack… Did I mention that he eats in a ‘timely’ manner. Oh yes, breakfast, 10:00 snack, 12:00 lunch, 2:00 snack, 6:00 dinner, 9:00 snack…. I am with Lisa, I’m sure obese is what the chart would call me as well at 5’6″ and 187lbs… pick your jaw up… it happens….

    Not being OCD and not caring as much as my husband, I’ve only lost 18 lbs in the same amount of time. I like to eat and I like to eat the wrong things ~ bread, potatoes, desserts. I eat when I’m sad, stressed, angry, happy, calm… you get the idea.

    Good luck Lisa!

  3. Lisa, I feel the same way about diets. I’ve always struggled with my weight. I did weight watchers last year and actually was doing really good on it. However, I was hungry often. Sure, I could eat a lot things and some foods were freebies meaning I could eat all I wanted of them. But it wasn’t what I really wanted to eat which left me with a feeling of not being satisfied. Then came the holidays and I couldn’t resist. I want to get back to doing the Weight Watchers because it was the only diet that ever worked for me. The problem is ‘no motivation’. I feel the same as Brody’s mom, in regards to the comment she left on your Facebook. “Diets make me irritable and mean. Being fat makes me depressed. Can’t win.” Regardless, I have got to get back on a diet because my clothes are getting tight on me and I refuse to go buy more clothes in a bigger size.

  4. ugh! I know Lisa, it’s a big task to lose weight! And what is up with the obese chart at the doctor’s office? I know, it still says I’m obese and yes I am still trying to lose! I haven’t had as good of luck as your friend or the guy at work! Been working at it since OCTOBER and 30lbs less, I’m taking my victories and continuing the strive!
    BTW I teared up a lil when you mentioned the days of free childcare and step aerobics! That was such a great time in my life….good memories were made for us and our children!
    Good luck and keep on toward the keeping off!!

Leave a Reply

